What’s your job?

December 27, 2009

Today just started as an average day.  I left my apartment a little early so I can take a stroll around the park before going to the church service at 4:30.  I went to service then helped the church with their end of the year cleaning.  At the end they had a gyoza (japanese dumplings) dinner as a thanks for the help.  Sounds normal, but what happened during all this was absolutely awesome.

There was a new guy at the church, Sho.  He introduced himself as a professional guitar player.  He also lived in the same city as me.  So afterwards I went to him and introduced myself to him.  I asked him what exactly he did as a living.  “I play guitar for some famous people” he said in rough english.  “Oh, like who?” I interestedly asked.  “Oh, ummm…for Exile, and, um, do you know BoA?”  When he said that my heart stopped.

I tried to play it cool.  I asked him to tell me more about Boa.  He was the guitarist for her next album “Identity”.  He also had a copy of some of the songs on her album on his ipod shuffle, though not all of them are complete.  He asked me if I wanted to hear it, to which I calmly agreed to.  However, with an ipod shuffle, he had to skip through a couple dozens songs before he could actually pull up her song.  I patiently waited.  When he finally got it, I eagerly took the headphones and listened to a song that won’t be out for over another month.

He told me that he didn’t like the administrative people around Boa, but that Boa herself was a pretty cool person. He told me about how he got into the music industry and how stressful the it is and how what used to be his hobby is now becoming a job.  Pulling out his cell phone I saw pictures of him with some of the artists he recorded with; some of them I’ve heard of, some not.  After talking for a while about music and Japan, we exchanged cell phone numbers.

Since we lived so close to each other, we rode our bikes together back home. During our bike ride back, I shared with him briefly how I became a Christian and what I was doing in Japan.  He told me that he himself was a pastor’s kid and has been a Christian his entire life, though he hasn’t been able to go to church recently because of his hectic schedule.  When we arrived at my place, he thanked me for talking with him and helping him with his english.  And even though he’s going to be really busy with Boa’s next album coming out, he told me that he really wanted to meet up again.

Sweet.

2 Responses to “What’s your job?”

  1. Super Noodles said

    hooray famous people

Leave a Reply

